What If…Frank Miller did Comic Book Twinkie Advertisements?

It is distubrbingly easy to take narration boxes from The Dark Knight Returns, and make them into very intense Twinkie ads.  You should try it.

It is distubrbingly easy to take narration boxes from The Dark Knight Returns, and make them into very intense Twinkie ads. You should try it.

With Hostess in financial flux, and the Mayan plot to end the Earth foiled, I got to thinking about Twinkies again. Unlike Dick Clark, Twinkies can be restored. As i thought about the fate of the Twinkie, I also thought about how I’m not currently all that into the Batman Family of comics, mostly because they are moving along at the pace of the mighty glacier, while trying to create a more psychotic clown as the villian of the piece.

When Dark Knight Returns came out, in the eighties, it was a good time to be a fan of Batman. Batman: Year One was on its way, and the back issues you picked up? Those were the Neal Adams “New Look” Batman that returned the character to detective work. It wasn’t so gritty that it was like reading sand, but it was good stuff….with Dark Knight as the grim capstone. The centerpiece of the table, if you will.

Now…you pick up “Holy Terror” by Frank Miller, and he seems to be a parody of himself. As if he were trying to do the kind of comedy that I was working on above.

I was considering an additional panel, something along the internal monolgue lines of, “Something tells me to stop with the creme filling. I don’t listen.” Overall though, I thought that might have taken the gag a bit too far.

Once again…just a thought about how my Batman comics used to be fun.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.