Spring Break: “We Can’t Stay Here…This is Bat Country!”

Thinking about the break this week, and the need to get our of town, and away from school...this came out.

Thinking about the break this week, and the need to get our of town, and away from school…this came out.

This is mostly going to be a post about the process. The art is pretty straightforward in its content…clearly, the cast is leaving behind them a lot of stuff they are happy to show their backs to. Maybe it’s Los Angeles, maybe Pledge LA. Could be the Darths, or it could be Scott Snyder’s Batman: eternal on sale now (I didn’t like it much). Regardless, the cast is pretty damn happy to put it in the rearview, except for Pony, who looks really burned out.

Pony represents the motivation that my team of teachers, and me of course, have. Pony IS burn ed out, and motivation is at a low ebb. That’s why Pony looks BAD, and is driving. Usually Horsey drives…but Pony really needs to get out of Dodge.

Horsey is holding an apple because I want to stop at an Applebee’s apparently. Seriously, this is a thing, i think. There is some sort of bacon based entree, or perhaps even a desert, that I encountered the last time i left LA, but was too sick already to try. Now, I get a second chance. This past week I read an article about a person biting into a burger or somesuch at Applebee’s and biting into a bolt…so I’ll chew carefully.

Note that our hero is flipping off all of those bats, that crazy batpony, and pretty much anything that might be in the rearview mirror. I drew this while thinking of leaving school in Friday, so take that to mean what you will, True Believer.

Our current math teacher saw it just after it was inked, and stated that he really liked the black and white…hence, I’m putting up the inked version next. I liked it too, but the cartoony presentation of my own car demanded a color treatment:

The inked black and white.  once again, to Scott Koblish...now I understand why tracing is important.

The inked black and white. once again, to Scott Koblish…now I understand why tracing is important.

I do admit, I did like the black and white as a thing. The next step was coloring, which I always digitize directly. Here’s that raw image:

The raw color image.

The raw color image.

After that, I usually adjust the color, in various ways. In the final image, the colors are a little soft, because I usually err on the side of brightness. In this case, I really liked the colors in the raw image, and was definitely going to include the colored pencils. I’m considering doing more in marker…but haven’t acted on that threat yet. Took me ages to get to real inking.

The initial wave of color adjustments resulted in this image, which is pretty much the lead image that I went with, without the added black border and text. I debated the border and text for a while, but decided that it was needed.

The final color treatment, without text or border.

The final color treatment, without text or border.

This particular image went through several stages of color experimentation…sometimes they do, sometimes they don’t. I also often run various other effects, just to see how they play. This one wasn’t worth the lead, but at least was visually interesting enough to include. It both has the feel of ‘road trip’ and ‘frantic disorder’ that I was fishing for.

like photos spread on a desk blotter or countertop.  Interesting.

like photos spread on a desk blotter or countertop. Interesting.

There it is. A bonus post primarily about the process, and the fact that I’m leaving town. I’m bringing my gear with me, so there should be no interruption of service, True Believers.

More Spring Break next issue!

Leave a Reply

