Guest Artist Week: Bryan L. Mon!

This was the first commissioned art that was finished for me at Wondercon.  It is possibly my favorite.

This was the first commissioned art that was finished for me at Wondercon. It is possibly my favorite.

So…to start off Guest Artist Week, I need to explain the ground rules. First…I’m going to post the raw image first, to attempt to present the artist’s vision and execution. I think that is pretty important, and really, I am hugely honored to present the work of these professional comics artists.

First up is Bryan L. Mon. Bryan was hugely friendly to me when I showed up at his booth, and I was super impressed with his work. He was there with the creative team of his current comic, Tuff-Girl, which if you click that link, you can read a review of. Some cover art of the book can be seen below:

Tuff-Girl, art by Bryan L. Mon.

Tuff-Girl, art by Bryan L. Mon.

Besides Tuff-Girl, Bryan has a pretty impressive resume, True Believers! He hails from Atlanta, Georgia, and is an illustrator and character artist, Disney Consumer Products (current). Let’s be clear, people…he does Disney illistrations for products. He draws princesses. We like princesses. He was also an illustrator and character artist for Cartoon Network. Color me impressed, and color me baffled that he did art for us.

Let’s look at a couple of other pieces by Bryan:

70's era Ms. Marvel...

70’s era Ms. Marvel…

60's, Yvonne Craig style Batgirl.

60’s, Yvonne Craig style Batgirl.

For more of his artwork, click this link. There’s also a handy link in the nave tools at your right. You may need to scroll a bit.

Bryan checked the reference art, and then checked out Adequacy in order to ‘get a feel for the character.” I loved what he drew, and that he chose his own take on the original costume. He made our hero somewhat happier than she has been of late, or maybe ever, and whimsical, and added Thor’s sledge of his own behest. When he put it in my hands, I couldn’t have been happier.

At that point, it was the first time anyone else had drawn our hero from Tales of Adequacy. it was hard explaining the schtick, and the idea to real artists, but the finished product…it was crazy. It was excellent.

Treated with the filters most current Adequacy is.  We lose some detail in color, but it highlights Bryan's line work.

Treated with the filters most current Adequacy is. We lose some detail in color, but it highlights Bryan’s line work.

If you are interested in contacting Bryan for commissions, or just to say you like his work, he can be found at bryanlmon@yahoo.com

Tomorrow…Guest Artist Week Continues! With Dan Smith and Tacos!

Leave a Reply

