Guest Artist Week: Tony Fleecs!

I watched as he drew this....it made me happy.

I watched as he drew this….it made me happy.

So…I actually saw Tony last year at Equestria LA, and bought a print of his work there…that was the cover to My Little Pony: Rainbow Dash No.2 (we will get to that in a minute). Tony is pretty reserved…he draws, and doesn’t exactly look up a whole lot. He’s friendly, but not talkative…really just happy to work, and spend time with people while doing it. Tony Fleecs is a comic book writer and artist who’s credits include, IN MY LIFETIME, TELL THEM JOHNNY WADD IS HERE and MY LITTLE PONY amongst others. He lives in Los Angeles. His mother says he is handsome.

Although really well known for his My Little Pony work, he has a fantastic portfolio of clever prints based on Marvel and DC characters, as if they were in cheesy pulp novels. This one, below, went home with me…partially because it’s awesomely clever, partially because Sue Storm has actually been in an Adequacy.

Right?  Knowing Fleecs only for his pony art is kind of missing out.  Not that we are saying ponies aren't important....

Right? Knowing Fleecs only for his pony art is kind of missing out. Not that we are saying ponies aren’t important….

I like the way she is wearing a stretch and spent Reed Richards as a sheet. Suggestive in the way of the old, lurid pulp art it references. All of this stuff is just fun, and beautifully illustrated.

This next didn’t come home with us, but is a solid example of this sort of genre work. You can see a bunch more of it at his gallery.

Fredrick Wertham is spinning in his grave.

Fredrick Wertham is spinning in his grave.

He also does these “Adorable Tragedies.” No joke, that’s what he calls them. I bought a print of his Wrath of Khan one, both because I am a Severe Trekkie and found it adorable, and because it’s central message in the caption struck me deeply. You out there know who you are…! You can see it right here (Tony made a bunch of cash off of me…)

Yep.  That's what best friends are.  Of course this guy does My Little Pony.

Yep. That’s what best friends are. Of course this guy does My Little Pony.

However, right now he has a small cottage industry going with Pony art. His My little Pony covers are awesome, and a bunch of his art graces T-shirts. T-shirts that I own. T-shirts that are LOVED.

I bought this last year at Equestria LA.  It references a hugely famous piece of Frazetta fantasy art, so we are seeing it again.

I bought this last year at Equestria LA. It references a hugely famous piece of Frazetta fantasy art, so we are seeing it again.

I have this in T-shirt form.  Doctor Hooves and Derpy.  Beyond good.

I have this in T-shirt form. Doctor Hooves and Derpy. Beyond good.

Want to meet Tony yourself, and score your own great art? Easy to do. You can check out his blog here, and see what conventions he will be present for. It’s not like stalking at all, True Believers.

So…before I post this last piece for the guest week, I want to make a few comments. One…I drew our hero with pupils in her eyes once, way back in the early Adequacies for effect. It’s kind of interesting how he did them, and by no means is this a continuity problem, so don’t e-mail about it. Second…there are a few pieces of artwork outstanding, so there will be a few more Guest Artist days.

Lastly…this was the last piece that I had given to me at Wondercon. I can’t tell you the odd feeling it is for someone else, a professional artist (who drew the cover to one of my favorite books of 2013)…to draw “your thing.” When he handed me this…I was blown away. It was kind of emotional. It was real.

Tony drew our hero in the star-t-shirt uniform. You can tell from the collar of the crew neck, and also all the stars he made sure to put around her. It sort of solidified for me that I want to get back to the really positive roots of what i do at school…since all these creators saw that positive bit through a quick review, and some reference art.

The filtered version.

The filtered version.

Next Issue: Free Comic Book Day!

Leave a Reply

