DC Sketch Cover Madness: The Multiversity!

My initial sketch cover pencils.  I am deliriously happy with this.

My initial sketch cover pencils. I am deliriously happy with this.

I want to focus on some things that I love about comics. I’ve had a crummy day today, and am posting in the evening. I’m hoping that things will all turn out for the best, as people tell me all the time is ‘a thing’, but think that maybe some things need a little help to turn out for the best. Still, last week at this time I read issue No. 1 of Multiversity by Grant Morrison, perhaps my favorite current comics writer. No one is one hundred percent good, so I was a bit worried.

Reading it uplifted me. So much so that having the privilege of drawing a cover with that comic inside, still makes me happy, on this pretty bad day.

Morrison likes to involve the reader in his stories in various ways, always challenging the reader. This book takes his ideas on metafiction as far as they can go, actually making the comic book that the reader is holding a danger to the survival of the entirety of creation, and involving YOU, by breaking the fourth wall, in a metaphysical crisis that demands the superheroes of 52 Universes.

In all of that, it never forgets to be fun. That comics are just fun, and should be enjoyed.

I was so excited, I decided to ink it. At first, I wasn’t going to, but…

It's amazing how much more defined the inks are.

It’s amazing how much more defined the inks are.

If you haven’t been following the New 52…it doesn’t matter. Multiversity can stand on its own, ignore the New 52 as a direct sequel to Final Crisis, or include the New 52 through Earth 23’s President Superman. Kind of an amazingly flexible concept, storywise, in continuity…it fits all continuity by more or less ignoring as much as it can. Of comics that I have read recently, it is one of the crispest in dialogue, and one of the most exciting in terms of mind blowing concepts. The art by Reis is beautiful, showing a real flair for draftsmanship and design.

There were several variant covers besides the blank one I drew on…let’s peek at a few.

The main cover I based my composition on...

The main cover I based my composition on…

The Captain Carrot variant, based on Action Comics No. 1...

The Captain Carrot variant, based on Action Comics No. 1…

...and this 1:100 ratio variant drawn by Grant himself...

…and this 1:100 ratio variant drawn by Grant himself…

…and Grant is the writer. Awesome. He literally just sat down and did the same kind of thing I love to do, and drew his own cover. When you discover that you have something in common with someone you look up to, a hero, if you will…it’s pretty huge. So…using the Copier at work, which is sadly only black and white, I copied my inks, and did this variant of my variant….

GAH! Color!

GAH! Color!

I read it again today, as Grant Morrison often warrants re-reading to insure comprehension. This was a good idea, since there was a lot to the story, and a large amount embedded in the art. If every comic book were this well done, the industry would have a much higher standard, and the medium would command more respect. But just like every novel isn’t “Catch-22,”, every comic can’t be Multiversity. Multiversity apparently represents the culmination of about a decade of Morrison’s planning and writing.

To that, I only have to say, thanks, Grant. It would be cool to shake your hand, and buy you a drink, for all the excellence and enjoyment you’ve brought into my life. It’s easy to criticize creators…I think we often forget to thank them.

Next Issue: The Spider-Woman Controversy! Be there!

Leave a Reply

