Potential Comics: My Enemy, My Pay Period!

See, the left hand side represents the beginning of the month...the right hand side the end.

See, the left hand side represents the beginning of the month…the right hand side the end.

I so thoroughly enjoyed drawing this it is crazy. All kinds of the weirdness that I love about Silver Age covers. Plus, the protagonist is rocking a top hat and a fancy cane while punching out some jabroni in front of a Rolls Royce with her OWN logo on it. A driver is waiting to take her to her next @#$ kicking.

See…that’s what the beginning of the month is like for teachers. You get a whole month of pay all at once, and suddenly, you are just full of cash. You feel like you can just hang around with Donald Trump and the Monopoly Man.

It’s not all month of making Dolemite green with envy, though. Pay some bills, buy some food, and by the end of the month, it’s more like the right hand side…cooking up some ramen noodles, kicking off shoes that are way too old and noticing it is time for some new socks. It’s interesting that on some level, I think she actually looks more comfortable and happy on the right hand side.

The Union likes to talk about how teachers haven’t had a raise in a long time. They are right about that, and in fact, very little cost of living adjustment either. It makes the dichotomy of millionaire and hobo even more sharp.

This is pretty much what the post is all about, True Believers. Nothing subtle here…as the month of December, a particularly costly month, winds to a close, it’s pretty easy to feel like cooking some soup at your private super shack. That shack was a hassle to draw, incidentally.

This is the pre-cover treatment artwork:

If you crave satisfaction, did that protagonist in action!  Guaranteed to put your @#$ in traction!

If you crave satisfaction, did that protagonist in action! Guaranteed to put your @#$ in traction!

Still…despite the lean wallet at this time, I can’t say how excellent it is to be in a jabroni free environment. I haven’t gotten a directive, or had an adult try to convince me of something foolhardy for about a week and a half. Contract issues have not been brought up, and I haven’t had to break up any sort of physical altercations. Normally, I don’t really look forward to time off in this way, but right now, I can only say that I am thankful for the time off.

And…I’m enjoying my ramen noodles, thank you.

Next Issue: Another Year Over…

2 thoughts on “Potential Comics: My Enemy, My Pay Period!

  1. I particularly like this cover art, especially the right hand side. Nice job. Also, why doesn’t anybody else comment on your posts? They’re awesome!

    • Thank you! For web sites, getting people to comment is called “engagement”, and is one of the hardest things to achieve. I appreciate all the comments.

      About the art…that particular composition had been brewing in my mind for some time, so I’m glad it was well liked. I have that sock, on the right hand side. Also, notice that she is literally sitting on her soapbox.

Leave a Reply

