“A lot of brainless unicorns swaggering about…”

The cover art for today's weirdness.  It is on topic, I promise.

The cover art for today’s weirdness. It is on topic, I promise.

So, my History teacher is going over the Middle Ages, and I’m teaching “The Once and Future King.” The other English teacher on my team of teachers is using “The Midwife’s Apprentice” as her novel, with the intention of connecting thematically to the historical content. Overall it’s a solid, Common Core aligned plan, with a research paper attached.

Except it FEELS a whole lot like the image above. It feels forced, it feels like something I have to do, more than something I want to do. That feeling, in large part, comes from the fact that we are asked to do “high level standards based activities” in class, and “project based learning”….with little to no disciplinary support.

I say that with the weight of someone who has the MiSiS Referrals Report, from October to RIGHT NOW, in their hands. I know the exact number of referrals made for my grade, and the exact number of “actions taken” or “interventions” logged into the system. The ratio does not demonstrate support of teachers, or for that matter, support of students.

Pony Hulk is starting to solidify artistically.  Also, this is a truism.

Pony Hulk is starting to solidify artistically. Also, this is a truism.

My grade level has the largest number of referrals, and by proportion, the smallest number of actions or interventions per teacher identified issue. My co teacher and I have identified this at length, and been talked down. At this point, we finally have access to the hard data, and math, like “fast”, simply doesn’t lie, True Believers. The numbers say what they say, and can be interpreted as the viewer sees fit.

The job of the solid statistician is to create a report where the conclusions driven make sense. Where one is drawn to the logical ends that are factual, instead of having a political agenda served by the use of numbers in a spurious fashion. That impartiality is tough, especially when forces like Pony Hulk do not approve of some of the most basic facts.

Text free disapproval from Pony Hulk.

Text free disapproval from Pony Hulk.

Still…this is a tough one to deal with from day to day. When I have to step out into the hallway to set the peace…or call time and time again to administrators’ offices, waiting for someone to pick up the phone to deal with truancy or a security issue…it wears. I wonder…does it really matter much what my students get from T.H. White? Do the Middle Ages count for that much? How much, in truth, does anyone care about class running well, or with rigor?

Thinking about THAT led me to draw this quick sketch…

Puny Flower!  Pony Hulk is the strongest one there is!

Puny Flower! Pony Hulk is the strongest one there is!

Pony Hulk week has been solid. It has made me able to personify, and make humorous, the upset that I have toward the supervision problems. Plus…artistically, Pony Hulk is starting to become more solid, more consistent. Much like it took Stan and Jack a good five issues to start getting a handle on the Hulk, at the end of a week I have a firmer grasp of the vision of Pony Hulk. In many ways, much loser to the first image, in many ways, disparate. I’m actually very happy that there is such similarity in the process and early evolution to the process that my heroes had in the sixties.

That being said…I’d rather there was no need for Pony Hulk at all.

2 thoughts on ““A lot of brainless unicorns swaggering about…”

  1. That first image reminds me of a scene from the original Conan movie with the Wheel of Woe (or whatever it was called).

    • It’s the “Wheel of Pain,” and that is exactly what I was after. With aliens, mutants and ponies. later on in the film, Conan is crucified on the “Tree of Woe”….which is reserved for later posts.

      Good eye!

Leave a Reply

