I’ll Give YOU a @#$% Spectrum War! (Not a Secret War…that’s coming)

Klingons with metal eye patches.  You GO, General Chang.

Klingons with metal eye patches. You GO, General Chang.

It’s the weekend, and I choose not to have a school related post, packed full of Haters. Instead, a brief comics related post, about an upcoming comics event.

I think I’ve made it clear…I love Classic Trek. Star Trek: The Next Generation is pretty good too, but there’s something crazily great about the orange paint, velour shirts, and blinking lights that the 1960’s predicted to be the norm for the future. Giant hairstyles, go go boots, and early flip phones combine to make a future that seemed fun to live in. I miss the idea of the future being fun, instead of “realistic.”

I also really loved the Green Lantern comics. About a superhero in space, the cop for Earth and several other planets, it was drawn by Neal Adams when I first encountered it, and blew my mind by addressing the same sci-fi driven liberal politics that Star Trek did. Green Lantern was also fun, crazy 1970’s fun, while it also went to the trouble of being thought provoking, and questioning the “great power, great responsibility” cliches that drive comics by adding a layer of social complexity. I have an entire collection of custom made Green Lantern rings which predate the popularity of the recent film and comics by at least a decade.

Again…a thing I think is cool. Every now and then, our hero in Adequacy has also been shown to have a Green Lantern Power Ring, of the design illustrated above, that she rarely uses. There’s always the implication that it’s because of some falling out with the Guardians, or maybe the Corps itself. I’ve never bothered to make it clear, mostly because I’ve never bothered to think too hard about it. She just sort of has it, accumulated through years of second string superheroing.

These two things that I think are cool are coming together, in one comic book, in July. That’s right…”Star Trek/Green Lantern: Spectrum War No. 1″ ships in July. Star Trek previously crossed over with DC for a team-up with the Legion of Superheroes in 2011, courtesy of writer Chris Roberson and artist Jeffrey Moy. I liked that to a surprising degree (HUGE Legion fan), so I am very much looking forward to this coming crossover. That crossover (Star Trek/Legion of Superheroes) featured the “classic” crew (the Shatner/Nimoy version of Kirk/Spock), while The Spectrum War features the rebooted universe’s crew.

Here’s the official plot description for Star Trek/Green Lantern:

“The Spectrum War: Set in Star Trek’s 23rd Century, the balance of the universe will be tested when the Green Lantern Corps’ Power Rings come into the possession of certain Star Trek characters while a dark and powerful evil looms around every corner. Only the combined power of the Green Lantern Corps and the Federation stand any chance of stopping those who worship evil’s might.”

Okay…IDW, please take my money. I’m IN.

This is going to be a six issue mini-series, and will certainly be compiled in Trade Paperback Format, not unlike it’s predecessor. It’s a big reason that I am very much looking forward to the end of the school year, and summer vacation.

One thought on “I’ll Give YOU a @#$% Spectrum War! (Not a Secret War…that’s coming)

Leave a Reply

