Fancy Places, Part Three: Santa Rosa Instead of Comic-Con.

That stuff in the parchment style narration box? That’s the stuff of heroes.

That stuff in the parchment style narration box? That’s the stuff of heroes.

I drew this on Tuesday, but it will post for Wednesday, basically the start of San Diego Comic-Con (at least for retailers, I’m not sure of this year’s event calendar). For those not in the know, San Diego Comic-con is the largest Comic Book Convention, pretty much anywhere. Being intensely claustrophobic myself, I cannot think of anything more stressful. I say that with authority, having spent
five hours on California freeways today (Tuesday), and feeling intensely antisocial as a result.

The goal for me, was to get to the Charles Schulz Museum, which of course there will be a post about. Schulz was a brilliant cartoonist, and his daily newspaper strip “Peanuts” is at a level of fame and respect that few comics, or their creators, ever achieve. I was here about two years ago, and drew in their museum space…which they asked to keep. That makes the only Adequacy “original artwork” that I don’t actually own part of a museum collection. Pretty @#$% cool.

I’m also excited because the SDCC (Comic-Con) exclusives will start to be distributed this week. Those almost immediately wind up on eBay, and I must say, the Skottie Young Marvel Pins are something I’m looking forward to aggressively bidding on. I like his whimsical style, his completely non “grim and gritty” interpretation of Marvel Comics and its licenses. Skottie Young makes comics that make me laugh, that make me happy. We need more of that, and I want to support him with my dollars.

Today’s art is very much intended to evoke Young’s whimsical, offbeat, fantastic style. Like him, I wanted to do a “one panel, one gag,” and as the weird Giant took shape, I didn’t want to obstruct him at all with a speech balloon. That’s why we got the digital text narration box, which for once I think worked out quite well.

Without the narration box.  In case you feel like the narration subtracted from the visual.

Without the narration box. In case you feel like the narration subtracted from the visual.

Yesterday’s art was also a conscious effort at the kind of offbeat structure of Young’s work, but I was less happy with it. It was okay…but I kept fussing over our hero’s posture, and the basic structure of the bearcat farmer. The fence worked out…but I’m oddly unhappy with the barrel. Considering it is a daily sketch, and I was on a rigorous schedule, I’m not upset about it…but I point it out more to express how much I am happy with today’s piece, even without the text box. The punchline kind of works without the text.

The Hill Giant came about from really, all the huge @#$% mountains which are apparently “foothills” that you see while driving. It seemed like some equally large being should live there, but sasquatch lives in Canada. Hence, the Hill Giant. It’s unclear that he’s going to be unfriendly…I’m assuming that he likes ponies. Po-Nays.

We also had a request for the Young by way of Gerhard, unprocessed image from Monday’s post. Unusual, but in the comments there were flattering statements about “natural shading” and so forth, so I felt I should post it in response. Readers do get to have some kind of input…that was the point of Marvel’s letters page. So, as a result of that subscriber’s eagle eye in seeing a different image in his e-mail and the site, I am re-printing the one I took down, as a Marvel Style No-Prize.

The "in process" version of the Monday post.  Primarily darker, and with less contrast.

The “in process” version of the Monday post. Primarily darker, and with less contrast.

There you go…a No-Prize given as Comic-Con begins. I will have art from the Museum Trip tomorrow, and as announcements from Comic-Con happen, I will probably get riled up and make posts.

Once again…Excelsior!

Leave a Reply

