Team Up Week Begins: Time For Therapy Clown!

Makes you wonder why they're friends.  Also, it is HARD to draw well in Bruce Timm's Style.

Makes you wonder why they’re friends. Also, it is HARD to draw well in Bruce Timm’s Style.

A Sunday Bonus Post!

That’s right, True Believers…it’s Team Up Week! School is NOT in session, so I’ll mostly be commenting on pop culture, comics, and movies. With an upcoming viewing of Star Wars: The Force Awakens in my near future, it seemed on point. Team Up Week might be a little interrupted by Christmas…I’m not sure. I’m pretty certain I can come up with some kind of Christmas Team Up, and maybe one that would be pretty fun. Who can say?

Recently, I did a three part series on how DC comics is portraying Bruce Timm and Paul Dini’s creation, Harley Quinn. Quinn is directly the inspiration for Therapy Clown, of course. But more interesting to me than anything, is that Timm and Dini aren’t too fond of the recent incarnation or portrayal of their character. They have been polite enough, but it has come across in conventions and interviews.

I was recently asked a question about creators’ rights, and it got me thinking about that…about Timm and Dini’s feelings on the matter. They made the character as work for hire, and DC/Warner Bros can do whatever they want with her. Still…from their work together, Harley Quinn is one of the most lasting and influential creations, and one that they came up with, whole cloth. I figure it would be like someone taking my car and painting it red…upsetting, because that was Your Thing.

Timm’s style is deceptively complex to draw in. There’s a small number of lines, but all of them are very, very expressive. They define space and detail through simplicity, which is diametrically opposed to the detailed line work that I did in yesterday’s Kirby-esque piece, also a Team Up. It was a real challenge to emulate, as well as the impromptu hand study that made the composition work. Hands holding guns are hard to draw.

It was also a challenge to get a really expressive look on the protagonist’s face, because like Starfire and Little Orphan Annie, her Alien American eyes have no pupils. Half the reason that the ponies are so expressive is their giant eyes. Here, I had to work with facial structure, eyebrows, mouth, and posture to convey the “I can’t believe you just put all the blame on me” look. It was a big, big challenge, even using Timm’s own work as a reference.

I do like the implied action of the moment. Just after the statue is broken, and just before the protagonist will have to be nigh invulnerable.

Why is there a statue of Batman in a museum? I don’t know. Alicia Masters does sculptures of superheroes in Marvel Comics, so presumably that A Thing. See what I did there? Maybe not. Anyway, yes, there’s a statue of Batman in a museum, that they just vandalized. Most clowns dislike Batman, so that’s not hard to figure out…and long time readers know that the protagonist has issue with the Bat from the early 90’s…much like I do. My beef was that the stories had taken the direction of Dark Knight Returns way too far. Upon reflection, I think that’s pretty much the same problem that our hero has. You can judge for yourself by going to the “Search” box, typing “Batman”, and reading back issues of Adequacy.

Still…this is, obviously, a definite vacation post. Not a whole lot to discuss here beside what’s been put forth…and very much the conclusion of my “experimenting in art” week, while starting off, officially, Team Up Week.

Tomorrow…another Team Up!

Leave a Reply

