Hail to the Laser Unicorn!

I'm not all that patriotic...but a unicorn with laser eyes is straight up cool.

I’m not all that patriotic…but a unicorn with laser eyes is straight up cool.

Seriously…I think Reagan’s “Star Wars” program developed laser unicorns in the eighties. I’m pretty sure.

The method here is not unlike Jack Kirby’s collaging…except that this time, I did it digitally. The Mount Rushmore background was it’s own, separate piece of art, using the more “shading area” based drawing method of the M’tenda lion post. The foreground is more of my standard method of line art, inked. The two were made into a digital composite, resulting in the final, collaged image.

The point had to do with the day off that I am currently enjoying. It will actually be an odd week of school…with Monday off, Tuesday as a shortened “training day”, Thursday as a lengthened “Parent Conference Night” and Friday as an even shorter “Minimum Day.” It is my experience that changes in schedule are not good for either teachers or students, so I am bracing for an unusual week of education.

Today, however, I have little to do but draw. For the first time in a while, I have topics listed all the way out to Friday, perhaps even Saturday…so it’s really just a matter of productivity.

On the subject matter…I considered going “political” with a Trump post. I certainly have enough punchlines on the subject. Still…I try not to let political agendas outside of education or creators’ rights seep into the posts…it’s just not really a soapbox for all of that. Instead, I tried to channel the sort of weirdness that Jack Kirby interpreted as “patriotism” through his OMAC, Kamandi, and Captain America work. I couldn’t tell you who the protagonist, “I Told You So” Pony, and the Quislet are rolling out to whoop with lasers and lightsabres, but I can tell you this…

I wouldn’t want to be on the wrong side of them. That’s a unicorn with laser vision.

Over the weekend, Supreme Court Justice Scalia died. He was a little too conservative for my tastes, but he took the work really seriously, and was a strict constitutionalist. He believed in the things that he stood for, and wrote a really good rant that I often enjoyed reading, even if I didn’t agree. From what people said about him, he had a keen sense of humor, and was a generally fun person, which is interesting to hear.

That’s part of the reason I did a more “on topic’ post than usual for Presidents’ Day. Often we have Evil Lincoln, or Zombie Presidents, or even Washington getting clocked. That’s all well and good, and protected by the free speech that I hold so dear to my heart. Still…this is an election year, and the candidates that I’m being shown…they don’t impress me. Guys like Scalia, figures that I might not agree with but certainly respect, seem in short supply.

The foreground art, pre-collage.

The foreground art, pre-collage.

I was trying to come up with a clever conclusion for this post…but there really isn’t one. In terms of content (artistically) it’s a whimsical interpretation of the mythology of America…including the empowered immigrant. In terms of my rambling via text here, it is an attempt to avoid soapboxing about my own political views, and to cut just a tiny amount of respect to an intelligent man who served in the Supreme Court, without getting into any real politics. In just sticking to the mythology of America, the lore of the land, if you will.

Honestly, it wouldn’t do any real good if I did rant about my so-called views. My views are no more original, or my own, than my television actually is responsible for the shows that it displays. At the end of the day, both you and I have only one real way to interact with ideas, and make decisions. The only real tools we have are our eyes and our heads. It’s not the act of seeing with our eyes alone; it’s correctly comprehending what we see. No webcomic is about to make a major influence in that area…at least no webcomic authored by me.

So instead, I followed in the footsteps of Mr. Jack Kirby, and put together a collage about the mythology of the day. Giant President heads carved into a mountain, unicorns and laser swords. I would hope that Jack would smile at that, and really…that would be my American Dream.

Now, I’m going to hit the drawing board, to hopefully get a bit ahead.

Excelsior!

2 thoughts on “Hail to the Laser Unicorn!

  1. I just thought I’d point out that according to the New York Times, Justice Scalia’s passing could significantly affect the outcome of Friedrichs v. California Teachers Association.

Leave a Reply

