Down And Out In Beverly Hills.

This was a huge chore using the Kirby Collage technique.  Kind of worth it.

This was a huge chore using the Kirby Collage technique. Kind of worth it.

This post is running late, and will be more art intensive than usual. I was after a sort of “look and feel” of “Fancy California”, since for much of the weekend I will in fact be in Fancy California. I have a wedding to attend, and as I understand it, all of the related events are basically in Beverly Hills, hence the art. Still, let’s be fair…I am so totally preoccupied with my school paperwork that I actually have no idea specifically where anything is taking place, including tonight’s event.

I do know that tonight’s event is in Beverly Hills…but pretty much, that’s where my knowledge ends.

The original art plan, which was intended to be more like a postcard.  I like, it...but not enough to have used it as the leas image.

The original art plan, which was intended to be more like a postcard. I like, it…but not enough to have used it as the leas image.

I also hadn’t messed around with the brightness of the background, which has a really different effect with the collaging of the two images pencils. Again, I liked it, but the postcard style composition is really asymmetrical, and wasn’t really what I was looking for. I felt like I should include it, though, because I liked it.

The initial pencils for the foreground were done separate from the background, as I often do with complicated background images. I worked from a photo reference of the street in Beverly Hills, and tried to use more shapes of black space instead of true line work to do the setting. I’ve been doing that more and more lately, with mixed results.

The initial pencils.

The initial pencils.

This was where I started, with our hero just hanging out with a couple of Russian looking women who seem like they have bad reputations. She’s got the glove from a pretty recent Iron Man suit, since it is well established that the protagonist always winds up on Tony’s side during the Civil War events. I also always associate Tony Stark with “Fancy California.” Thus, the homage to the “International Iron Man” book that has just been cancelled, since that book really fell back on the same idea set, of Tony Stark as a jet setting socialite. The concept lets me put Cap in fancy clothes, and hang out with trampy Russian women in fancy clothes.

There’s nothing about them that makes them clearly Russian. It’s just that when I was drawing them, I imagined them as Russian. Maybe the guns, and the similarity to a James Bond poster drove that.

As it is…tonight, I’ll be working on navigating Beverly Hills, and maintaining civil relations with the people around me in fancy places, instead of continuing work on the paperwork that continues to grow on my desk, despite the impending deadlines. It seems the more I get off my desk, the more comes back onto it.

I need to rethink my “late work” policy.

2 thoughts on “Down And Out In Beverly Hills.

Leave a Reply

