Another Just Begun. (Sunday Bonus Post!)

A positive outlook for the new year.

A positive outlook for the new year.

Of the fancy suits that Cap has, I like this one a whole lot, including the tuning fork tiara…but it’s the least flattering to her. Yeah, I’m starting off with that.

New Years’ Eve is over, and it was far from a brief stay in the Quiet Room. A loud and crowded room, actually. I drew and inked this artwork yesterday, initially intended to be a part of yesterday’s post. I felt like breaking them up, over two days, was a better way to go.

People keep insisting, like our hero, that 2017 has to be a better year. You would think that to be intuitively true, but sentences like that alarm me, every time that I hear them. I know better than to think that cause an effect relationships are related to things people say, but I wind up like Cap’s Inhuman companion there…almost immediately admonishing such statements. It could be worse, and I really don’t want to have that happen.

I did the whole soapbox thing yesterday. Not going to do it again today. Instead, I’m going to post the lyrics from John Lennon’s “War Is Over,” which is one of the few seasonal songs that I actually enjoy. I think the message is on point, which is why I took the title for today’s (and yesterday’s) post from it.

“So this is Christmas and what have you done?
Another year over, a new one just begun.

And so this is Christmas, I hope you have fun,
The near and the dear ones, the old and the young.

A very merry Christmas, and a happy New Year
Let’s hope it’s a good on,e without any fears.

And so this is Christmas, for weak and for strong,
The rich and the poor ones, the road is so long.

And so happy Christmas, for black and for white
For the yellow and red ones, let’s stop all the fights.

A very merry Christmas, and a happy New Year
Let’s hope it’s a good one without any fear.

And so this is Christmas, and what have we done?
Another year over, a new one just begun.

And so happy Christmas, we hope you have fun
The near and the dear ones, the old and the young.

A very merry Christmas, and a happy New Year
Let’s hope it’s a good one, without any fear.

War is over if you want it, war is over now.”

The inks as they appear on my art board, without text.

The inks as they appear on my art board, without text.

It was after doing the pencils that I realized Auran the Inhuman has a her own personal wind blowing her scarf, which is inconsistent. I enjoyed drawing her scarf flowing in the last post, and it carried over. I considered digitally removing it, but decided to leave the small imperfection. I rather like it as it is.

I also considered why BB-8 would be confused, and making his interrobang sound. Poor droid…he was created and released in the last days of 2015. Most of his existence is in 2016, so he just doesn’t know any better. He thinks that legends like David Bowie and Gene Wilder die all the time, and that gorillas being shot, election tampering, and rampant discrimination are the norm. It’s most of the input in his poor little memory banks.

Baby Groot will help him! Heck…Baby Groot will help all of us, I think.

Back to the drawing board for me!

Leave a Reply

