True Colors (Come Shining Through…!)

Color was almost called for by this image. Also, color was popular the last time.

Today was a pretty straightforward, easy day. That’s great, because as the school year ends, things can get a bit crazy. The Scheduling Matrix went very, very well, and my close friend is not leaving. A bit of that has to do with various statements made to administration, and a few “deals.”

She’s a good teacher, and they really didn’t want to have to lose her.

Today though…I really wanted to work on yesterday’s art. At first, I really just wanted to “smooth out” the black areas, so that it would look more like my actual pencil copy, and also more like my initial, very “graphic approach” vision. Once that was done…I had my friend in a nearby classroom make a copy of the inked version, so that I could begin the arduous color process…which resulted in the above piece.

I can’t decide whether I feel like the red jacket is a new piece of clothing for Cap, or a retro look. Certainly, her usual jacket of that type is a blue/black…but I felt that it would get lost in the cosmic space background that Alanna’s face makes for the image. Hence, the red jacket…which I’m leaning toward saying is a new jacket, not something form Cap’s closet. Again…I haven’t decided.

Here was the originally intended black and white marker treatment:

As I originally envisioned.

Twice, while working on this, my iPod decided to play, “True Colors” by Cyndi Lauper. Hence the title of the post (which seems appropriate), and this…the lyrics, which also seem on point for right now:

“You with the sad eyes
Don’t be discouraged, oh I realize
It’s hard to take courage
In a world full of people
You can lose sight of it all
The darkness inside you
Can make you feel so small”

Obviously, not the whole lyrics…but very much defining Cap’s posture in flight, and expression. That, and kind of how I felt while drawing it.

Tomorrow…the Matrix!

Leave a Reply

