The “Capey” Awards, Part Two

The irony of this does not escape me.

So, the above image pretty much happened. In fact, it happened in a somewhat more ironic and hilarious form than depicted.

First off, Tales of Adequacy is not up for an Eisner Award. Sorry.

However, in between rants about the Teacher of the Year Nominations, I had an issue with the attendance office. And adult to adult issue, where, quite frankly, I was not happy with the relatively douchebag level treatment they had levelled at me the day before, merely for trying o confirm an attendance issue. You know…their jobs.

I of course, took this way further than it need to go. In fact, that’s pretty much where I started on that. E-mails were sent, Vice Principals involved…it all got rather huge. To be fair, a simple, “Yeah, we’re sorry. Bad day, won’t happen again,” would have made it go away.

That didn’t happen. In fact, during my conference, attendance’s Top Man came down, to my office, and generally said that he wasn’t about to play ball. I again, lost my head with Epic Level anger, and informed my team that I was Quitting.

Important side note. I Quit all the time. All the time. It’s kind of a bad habit really. The Team realized that this had a somewhat meaner edge to it, as I stormed off.

When I got to the main building, the following conversation ensued.

Me: “That’s it! I’m done! Ridiculous….cleaning out my desk!”

Boss: “What? What’s wrong?”

Me: “Ridiculous suit talk, no one doing their jobs right, ten captains on the ship, dogs and cats living together…! That’s it! I’m done! I quit!”

Boss: “Don’t do that.”

Me: (very ranty) “Why? Give me one good reason why not?”

Boss: “I just recommended you for teacher of the year. Don’t you ever read your e-mail?”

Me: (stunned) “Wait…what?”

I sat down, confused for a while, in her office, and then wandered off. It was later confirmed that yes, earlier that morning, she had nominated me for the award that I A) actively was angry about the night before, and B) spent the morning resentfully mocking.

Comedy doesn’t get much better than that.

One thought on “The “Capey” Awards, Part Two

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.